May 2008

Concerto for Bassoon, Seven Solo Strings and Small Orchestra


First performance by the bassoonist Antal Mojzer and The Chamber Orchestra of Lapland, conducted by John Storgårds, at Rovaniemi, Finland, on 5th May 2008.

The three clips are taken from the three movements:

  1. This is part of the wild fugue at the centre of the first movement
  2. The “trio” section falls away to a scherzando ending
  3. This is the opening of the finale


  • 1
    Concerto for Bassoon - Clip 1 (Bomb and Fugue)
  • 2
    Concerto for Bassoon - Clip 2 (Hanging and Tree)
  • 3
    Concerto for Bassoon - Clip 3 (Opening)

Sample Score Pages



“Kokonaisvaikutelma kolmiosaisesta teoksesta painottui itämaisten sointien suuntaan, joka varmaankin johtuu säveltäjän suosimista intervalleista. Seesteiset elementit vuorottelivat särmikkäämpien kanssa… Konsertossa fagotilla oli myös hienosti soivia laulavia jaksoja.”

(Susanna Parikka, Lapin Kansa)

“A significant impression was made by the three-movement piece’s oriental sonority, stemming from the composer’s use of micro-intervals. Clear, transparent sections were interspersed with rough, energetic interludes… The concerto had beautiful singing sections also.” 

(Susanna Parikka, Lapin Kansa – N Finland daily newspaper)