May 2000

Silent Conversation


Clarinet, Violin, Cello & Piano; 5 minutes

Written as a companion to Messiaen’s Quartet for the End of Time for an SPNM-promoted concert at the Tate Gallery, Liverpool, to accompany the Tony Cragg exhibition.

First performance May 27th, 2000 at the Liverpool Tate, by members of RLPO Ensemble 10:10 (Nicholas Cox, Shirly Laub, Jonathan Aasgaard, Kathryn Page)

First London performance December 4th 2001 at The Warehouse, Theed Street by The Contemporary Consort (Sarah Thurlow, Alexandra Wood, Rosie Banks, Huw Watkins), on the occasion of the SPNM AGM

The audio clip is taken from the performance in Liverpool by Nicholas Cox, Shirly Laub, Jonathan Aasgaard and Kathryn Page


  • 1
    Silent Conversation Premiere

Sample Score Pages